P E A C E  C H U R C H

Our History

Peace United Methodist Church
began its ministry in Hunter’s Creek
in September of 1991. 
We started worshiping in a movie
theater in the South Chase area. 
As the congregation developed,
a move was made to an
elementary school cafeteria. 
At the end of four years of ministry,
the need became apparent for a 
permanent facility and the present
multipurpose building was constructed. 

Pastors of Peace Church

Peace United Methodist Church at Hunter’s Creek began its ministry in September 1991 under the leadership of Rev. Dr. Bob Bushong. What began as a very traditional worship focus expanded to meet the needs of a younger and more family-based community. In 2000, leadership was transitioned to Rev. Dr. Phil Maynard. Peace offered traditional and contemporary worship experiences and continued to expand its external focus with a goal of reaching the unchurched population in our growing area. Our Casa de Paz ministry began in 2006 under the leadership of Rev. Jose Nieves. This was a bi-lingual ministry reaching out into the communities surrounding Peace and beyond. In addition to many outreach ministries in the local schools, Casa had a bi-lingual worship service on Saturday nights at the Peace. In July of 2009 Jose was appointed as Pastor of Casa de Paz, a new church start, moving to the Buena Ventura Lakes area of Osceola County and Casa de Paz as an official ministry of Peace UMC came to an end. On September 1, 2007, The Rev. Ivan G. Corbin became Senior Pastor when Dr. Maynard accepted a position with the Florida Annual Conference in the area of church renewal. On July 4, 2010 Rev. LeeAnn Inman became senior pastor when Rev. Ivan Corbin accepted an appointment to Grace UMC. In April of 2017, Peace welcomed the appointment of Rev. Jim Berlau as Associate Pastor, with this role to focus on the revitalization of worship and community engagement. In July of 2019, Rev. Jim Berlau was appointed as the full-time, lead Pastor of Peace Church when Rev. LeeAnn Inman retired after 39 years of ministry.